Education   Scholarship   Professional Development




The Kansas City Chapter of International Facility Management Association is seeking to reward potential for excellence in facility management. A career in professional facility management requires effective skills in communication and problem solving. Successful facility managers show an ability to provide and maintain effective workplaces, an awareness of workplace trends and technology, and dedication to professional ethics and values. The responsibilities of facility management are constantly changing. Facility managers supervise numerous aspects of a company’s facility, including security, architecture, computer systems, telecommunications, design, real estate acquisitions, and more. They coordinate the physical workplace with the people and work of an organization and play a role in maximizing employee productivity and efficiency. Various academic curricula prepare individuals for this career.



A scholarship pool of $5,000 has been approved by the Board, to be awarded to students of local area colleges and universities.  Awards will be a minimum of $500, and may be higher, depending on number of applicants and qualifications.  Scholarships will be awarded in June of this year.  



Academic Scholarship:

Must be a full time undergraduate or graduate student, or a part-time graduate student registered in a Kansas or Missouri College or University enrolled in a curriculum relating to facility management. Those curriculums include, but are not limited to, the study of interior design, architecture, engineering, business operations, construction science, environmental design and facility management.  The deadline for Academic Scholarships is April 30.



Click here to view the Scholarship Criteria

Click here to download the KCIFMA Scholarship Application


Member Scholarship:

In order to promote IFMA certifications (CFM, FMP, SFP) KCIFMA members may apply for training courses and certification course scholarships. The deadline for certification scholarships is March 31st.

Click here to download the KCIFMA Certification Scholarship Application.



2012 Scholarship Recipients

Lillian Cooper - Kansas State University

Ian Patrick - University of Kansas
Daniel Longo - University of Central Missouri
Nicholas Moore - Kansas State University 

2011 Scholarship Recipients

Colleen M Bradbury – Wichita State University
Michele M Gregg - University of Phoenix
Lillan Cooper - Kansas State University

2009 Scholarship Recipients

Janet Alley – Johnson County Community College
Allison Rudnicki - Drury University

2007 Scholarship Recipients:

Katherine Hamilton - University of Kansas
Kai Sun Luk - University of Kansas
Kelsey Stein - Drury University

2006 Scholarship Recipients:

Justin Clay - University of Kansas
Erin Shelton - University of Missouri - Columbia
Danielle Garrison - Kansas State University
Elissa Bartel - Kansas State University

2005 Scholarship Recipients:

Janet Alley – Johnson County Community College

Jennifer Andalikiewicz – University of Kansas

Jennifer West – Kansas State University

Yingting Wu - Univerity of Missouri-Columbia

2004 Scholarship Recipients:

Ashley Forsythe - Wichita State University
Darcy Illk - Emporia State University
Emily Drake - Park University
Yingting Wu - Univerity of Missouri-Columbia
Jeffrey Vaglio - University of Kansas

2003 Scholarship Undergraduate Recipients:

Aditi Arora - Kansas State University
Jessica Hatfield - University of Missouri, Columbia
Ryan Rosche - Kansas State University
Clare Vogel - University of Missouri, Columbia

2003 Scholarship Graduate Recipients:

John Waller - University of Kansas

2002 Scholarship Recipients:

Farrah Giurato - Wichita State University

Rebecca Bruce - University of Kansas

Jake Wayne - University of Kansas
Sridevi Sankarapu - Kansas State University
Mason McPike - Kansas State University






Join IFMA | Want to Get Involved | Contact Us